Why this winter sucks

So far this winter we have had two big snow storms and a two-day period of 20 below temperatures, to go along with the unusually cold winter temps we’ve had in 2013-14. This winter blows!

Since I’m in such a bad mood because of this extra powder central Illinois got this past night, I’m going to give you my top five reasons why this winter sucks.

5. Wet socks

Maybe it’s my fault that I don’t have any boots or shoes capable of keeping your feet dry, but there aren’t too many things worse than having wet socks all day. I feel like this winter it has snowed at least once per week. And when there’s a half a foot of snow on the ground at all times, it’s hard to keep your feet dry – especially when all you have are Nike’s and church (dress) shoes. So I start most of my days off on the wrong-wet foot (sorry for the pun), which just puts me in a bad mood from the jump. And that brings me to my next point.

4. Car not starting

This has been one of the coldest winters in recent memory. It’s been awhile since the last time we’ve had so many below zero days in Illinois. This means you have to go out and start your car 10 minutes early every day – unless you have a fancy new car with the automatic start, in which case I hate you. So that means you have to get up 10 minutes earlier everyday and get your socks wet. Well I don’t have a fancy new car. I have a 1999 Ford Ranger. She’s a beast, but her battery is not. My battery was in need of a change, and the recent -30 degree day we had last week killed my battery. Now I had to drop $100 dollars that I don’t have on a new battery and install it in the cold weather. I was actually proud of myself for being able to change out a car battery, because I am far from being a handy man. I’m sure im not the only one who has had car problems.

3. Bundling up and bundling down

Most college students walk to class. So in -5 degree days, you have to bundle up like the kid from A Christmas Story. Once again, adding to your preparation time. Then all the Illinois State University halls crank the heat up to 90. Now you have to take all those layers off as quickly as possible before you have a heat stroke. It’s just a terrible process.

2. Easier to procrastinate

Since I have to worry about the wet socks, and the car not starting, and the bundling process, I frequently end up not doing anything. If I need groceries or any household necessity, i’ll usually just procrastinate and procrastinate until I just end up eating ramen noodles instead of getting actual, real food.

1. People suck at driving in the snow

It’s crazy to me how bad some people can be at driving in the snow. I’ve seen so many cars up on the curb or off the side of the road, and that’s just in town. If people aren’t driving into a ditch, they’re driving 10 mph in the middle of the damn lane. This makes it harder to get around when people are acting like fools in this weather. So then you have to leave another 10 minutes early so you can get to your destination on time.

If you’ve been doing the math, all of this adds up to getting up 30 minutes earlier than I would usually hit the snooze button in the morning. Everyday is now a Monday for me. It’s been a terrible winter and it’s not over yet. Just check the forecast for the next week. Get ready to bundle up and bundle down.

Leave a Reply

